Meet author ANDREA PARNELL! Romance & Suspense Novelist!

Hi everyone!

My hands are getting numb from the cold back here in my library dungeon! I hear the baby peeps on the back porch and I guess I better think about bringing them in for the night.

We have nine peeps who are black and white and most have tuffs of goofy looking hair on the tops of their heads. They look like mohawks!

I can’t believe how cold it got here in Maryland! Brrr…

Today I would like to introduce you to another talented author, ANDREA PARNELL, who writes romance and suspense novels. You will enjoy meeting this talented and wonderful woman!

Thanks for stopping by, enjoy your evening and talk soon! :)

~AUTHOR THE WEEK~

ANDREA PARNELL

Isn’t that a beautiful photo!

Andrea Parnell is the award-winning author of ten novels, short fiction and articles, with more than one million copies of her books in print.

Her works include Gothic, Western, and other historical and contemporary romances.

Several of her books have been set in her home state of Georgia.

Andrea has received both the Maggie and Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice awards for her writing, and is a member of Novelists, Inc. (NINC) and past president of the Georgia Authors Network.

She is fond of cats, travel, overgrown gardens, and old houses with lots of crooks, crannies, and interesting shadows

Here are just a few of Andrea’s books! I think she has some of the most beautiful covers I have ever seen, don’t you? :)

DARK PRELUDE

This short novella is a prequel to the novel Dark Splendor.
A chance encounter offers lovely young Silvia Bradstreet an escape from her miserable life in London. The Eastwind sails for the American colonies in two weeks. If Silvia chooses to accept the offer of a mysterious benefactor, she must be ready to risk her life for a chance at freedom.
Silvia’s dark fate starts here, in a novella-length prequel to the sexy Gothic romance novel Dark Splendor.

WHISPERS AT MIDNIGHT

If only his kiss had been hard, brief and demanding, but it was not. It was gentle and probing, possessing, and took her breath away…
Amanda Fairfax met Ryne Sullivan when she came to take possession of the colonial Virginia plantation that was her legacy. She could see resentment burning in his dark blue eyes, yet once in his arms she could feel how fiercely he hungered for her, and how little she could resist his desires or her own. In a place where terror ruled the night and mystery cloaked each move, Amanda could not fully trust her lover or her love, for she sensed every moment of ecstasy might be her last.     

DELILAH’S FLAME

As the notorious saloon singer Delilah, Flame of the West, demure society beauty Lilah Damon secretly pursues a personal mission of revenge against the men who harmed her father.
One by one, the red-haired temptress lures them to ruin. But then Lilah makes a mistake that could bring her own downfall and disgrace.
Rugged cowboy Tabor Stanton joins Delilah in her hotel room for a private game of cards. The stake is a week of Delilah’s very personal attention. But Tabor’s winning hand comes up jokers as Delilah clubs him with a bottle, has him locked up on false charges–and steals his horse!
Once Tabor talks his way out of jail, he’s hot on the trail of sultry songstress, determined to learn her secrets and to claim the prize she cheated him of, no matter what the cost. Tabor Stanton has never burned to possess any woman the way he burns for Delilah. And the heat of their passion may set the whole West on fire. 

DARK SPLENDOR

Lovely young Silvia Bradstreet comes from London to an isolated estate off the coast of colonial Georgia to be an indentured servant. But a far different fate awaits her.

Clothed in finery and pampered like a queen, she finds herself a pawn in the devious schemes of Wilhelm Schlange, master of Serpent Tree Hall, as he manipulates the family members who hope to inherit his vast fortune.

Haunted by ghostly dreams and threatened by the island’s deadly secrets, Silvia cannot trust her own senses, much less anyone around her.

Most of all, she dare not trust her growing passion for Schlange’s nephew, handsome sea captain Roman Toller.

His lips move like a hot flame over her flesh and draw the very breath from her body.

Can Roman offer Silvia an escape from her dark fate–or is he leading her closer to destruction?     

                     

Recently I had the pleasure of interviewing Andrea and got some great advice on writing and getting published. Check it out! :)

 When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer? 
My desire to be a writer came about so suddenly I must have been whisked up to space ship by aliens and given a brain wave. I literally woke up one day with the desire to write a book, science fiction.

What type of genre do you write in?

Don’t kid yourself.  They’re up there.  Guess they were disappointed I wound up in romance and suspense.  They left me on my own.

What inspires you to write in this genre?

The love story never grows old.  We are all, all about relationships.  Love is our most elemental connection.  If really defined, my books are romantic suspense.  I like adventure, vicarious and otherwise.

Where to you get your ideas for your writing?

As a serious introvert, I have a rich inner life and an inability to take the world too seriously.  I am always running alternate scenarios in my mind for whatever is going on around me.  My stories stem from these weird musings.  History intrigues me and there is always an event or object from the past to inspire.

What do you read?

I try to read as much out of my genres as in.  I like thrillers, particularly political and military and enjoy paranormal enough to make that my next sub-genre.

 In your opinion, what key parts of a story make it great?

Every part of a story is important but characters lead.  Once a reader hooks into a character, the story takes off for them.

What activities do you do for inspiration?

I am a putterer which looks a lot like wasting time but isn’t.  One day, when I will get to it, I will write a blog post about puttering.  I cannot say enough about the joy and power of an idle mind.

Do you belong to any writing communities, or critique groups?

I taught creative writing for five plus years in adult education at a community college. We formed a writers group that is still meeting fifteen years later. Maybe we talk more about writing than we write, but that’s ok, it feels important.  I also belong to Novelist’s Inc, a professional writers’ organization and to Backlist Ebooks.

Has your work won any awards?

In my legacy publishing days, my books and I were awarded a Maggie, several Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Awards and other awards from fan organizations. The best awards are always good reviews and reader feedback. 

 Do you have a day job?

My new day job is learning the inroads of social media without a map while writing behind the wheel. I am a retired teacher.

What advice would you give to others who are interested in pursuing a career in writing?

Write a good book.  Learn the business of publishing and promotion whether you are pursuing legacy or e-publishing.  Write down your goals.  Don’t give up.  Oh, and buy my books.

What is the title of your upcoming/newly released novel, and where can we find it?

My most recent ebook release is Delilah’s Flame, a western historical.  My other current releases are; Dark Splendor and Whispers At Midnight, both Gothic novels and Dark Prelude, a free novella (Please do download a copy of Dark Prelude from your favorite ebook store.)

 

What is the best way for your fans to contact you and buy your books? (see below)

 I love to hear from readers and writers.  It reassures me someone other than the aliens in the spaceship are reading my books.

 What is your ultimate goal/dream concerning your writing?

1. I want to still be writing on my deathbed, decades away from now. 

2. I want to exceed my legacy publishing accomplishments with my ebooks. 

3. My son is fantasy author, Dan McGirt.  I want to collaborate on a story with him the way we collaborate on publishing our books. 

4. I want to entice my five year old grandson into writing a book one day.  This will no doubt surprise his parents as much as when he  informed them I was taking him to see a volcano. (I am!  One day.)

 Any final thoughts?

I have always felt I had one foot in the past and one in the present.  With e-publishing it is quite a ride. The ride of my life.  I have six more legacy print books in the e-publication queue and two new titles in the works. 

My thanks to the trailblazers in this industry who are generous with their ideas and advice. 

Kudos to ebook authors like Lisa who want to share and build a rising tide.  This is more fun than skinny-dipping.

Wow, thanks Andrea! More fun than skinny-dipping! I really appreciate you stopping by! You have been a great source of advice for authors like me and I look forward to hearing more about your beautiful books! :)

~HOW TO CONTACT ANDREA AND BUY HER BOOKS~

FaceBook https://www.facebook.com/AndreaParnellAuthor?sk=wall

Website http://andreaparnell.com/

Twitter @andreahparnell

Smashwords http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/AndreaParnell

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Andrea-Parnell/e/B005C1G5C4

~CONTACT ME~


I love to hear from my readers, whether good, bad or anything in between!

If you are interested in reviewing my books, interviewing me or being a guest on my blog, please contact me at Magicforest@peoplepc.com

Let me know if you want to be added to my distro list for upcoming book info!

I’ll also let you know about new releases, contests and other fun stuff and you’ll find out all the juicy stuff before anyone else does!

Twitter: @LisaVProulx

Amazon.com http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&search-alias=books&field-author=Lisa%20V.%20Proulx

Barnes&Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/LISA-V–PROULX?keyword=LISA+V.+PROULX&store=allproducts

Smashwords Author Profile http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/lisavproulx

Blog, The Main Artery:  http://lisavproulx.wordpress.com/

Blog, Lick and A Promise: http://lickandapromise.wordpress.com/

FaceBook Author Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-V-Proulx-Author-Fan-Page/223212131077410

And as always, thank you for your continued love and support! :)

*´¨) ¸.·*´¸.·*´¨)

(¸.·´ (¸.·’*Lisa¸.·*´¨)

“It is common sense to take a method and try it. If it fails, admit it frankly and try another. But above all, try something.” – Franklin D. Roosevelt

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Meet author ANDREA PARNELL! Romance & Suspense Novelist!

  1. this was a very great interview, and I really am enjoying reading this and gaining more information as an aspiring author myself. I most definitely will be buying Andrea Parnell’s books. I love the interview!

    Syl Stein

  2. Heartfelt thanks to both of you. This interview was a delight to do and I am dazzled by Lisa’s talent in putting it all together in such an outstanding way. Syl, thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

