Let’s talk about WITCHES! Wicca/Salem Witch Trails/Bewitched

Happy Friday everyone!

Two glorious words aren’t they, Happy and Friday! 🙂

I hope everyone is looking forward to the weekend. They are calling for snow here in Maryland on Sunday and the word S*N*O*W chills me to the bone! I hate the cold and anything to do with it. If I think of Hell, I don’t see fiery pits of flame and ash, I see cold, desolate and snow!

Well, today is Friday which means  I am writing about a topic that you might find interesting.

LET’S TALK ABOUT WITCHES is the theme today. I love witches and love to read and learn the history of them. I always dressed up as a witch as a little girl for Halloween and probably kept the sterotype of a big hat and a boomstick alive but hey, I was only a kid! Give me a break! 🙂

This Sunday will be my AUTHOR OF THE WEEK segment where I am hosting author Joyce Strand, author of the Jillian Hilcrest Mystery Series. Stop by to meet her and hear about what it’s like to be a mystery writer.

Starting in March, I will be changing the day for my author segment and just moving them to Monday. I want to start my SIX SENTENCE SUNDAY and don’t want to distract from my guest authors. I like to devote the whole section to them on their special day!

Also starting in March, I will be hosting ROCK STAR WEDNESDAY where I will host a band or a solo artist once a week. I love rock stars but you don’t have to be a rock band to join in on the fun. I enjoy all genres of music so contact me and let me know if you are interested in some FREE PROMOTION!

So, I hope you enjoy this edition of Friday’s topic.

Thanks for stopping by to say hello and have a great day! 🙂

~LET’S TALK ABOUT WITCHES~

I love witches! I always have and always will. The very first story that I ever wrote was called LILY WAS A WITCH, I was about 8 years old. It was about a little girl living in a family of witches and she knew she was different from the other children and her family was not accepted in the “real” world.

As a kid, I grew up watching Bewitched and wanted to be Samantha and just wrinkle my nose and make things appear.

As I grew older, I came to realize that the show was not real but was based on the actual faith of witchcraft.

My mother was a psychic/medium so I grew up in the world of the occult. My father was a staunch but loving Frenchman who thought the whole idea of ghosts and goblins was pure and utter nonsense!

My mother was also a Cherokee Indian who felt that her native beliefs were very closely related to what many people call witchcraft today.

Mixing herbs and saying prayers and chants are not that much different than casting a spell. Isn’t a spell just a prayer?

I have seen her do many strange things to get the results she wanted without riding a broom and flying through the Halloween night. But she would ask the tree for permission to remove its branch.

She was a kindred spirit with our animal brothers and sisters and was a kind, loving and forgiving soul. Witch or Native American? Both?

Was she a witch or just an elder in her Cherokee tribe? Was she praying or casting a spell? Did she ever harm others? No, that was not her way.

What I believe and know from the Wicca faith is that it is a gentle and very misunderstood religion.

The people I have known to be Wiccan are kind, loving and very spiritual people who are healers in some form or the other. They want to make the world a better place and through their love and harmony for Mother Earth, they spread that love throughout their lifetime, hoping to make a difference in every one they meet.

It took me a long time to be able to come out of the broom closet! Remember what they did to us back in old Salem? No wonder people are afraid to admit that they prefer to follow the old religion or otherwise known as “the Craft.”

Questions for me about Wicca:

Do you believe in God?

Absolutely! Just as I believe that it takes a male and a female to create a life, so it takes a male God and female Goddess (Mother Nature) to create the Earth.

Do you worship the devil?

Of course not! Wiccans are not devil worshippers! I do believe that there is evil in the world. If you believe in God and his angels, why would you not believe in his adversary and his demons?

Do you cast spells?

I have in my lifetime but not for bad. Like my mother, I simply believe that a spell is just a prayer.

Do you harm animals?

Are you kidding me? I love animals and they are my passion. I feel an empathy with them and that love creates a bond between us like no other. I have raised Rottweilers for over 13 years and could not live my life with animals around me.

Do you harm other people?

No, I do not. I believe in the Wiccan belief that if you wish harm on another or try to harm someone, it will come back to you three fold. Who needs that kind of aggravation! J

Wiccan morality is ruled according to the

Wiccan Rede, which (in part) states “An it harm none, do what ye wilt.” (“An” is an archaic word meaning “if”.) Others follow the slightly adapted Rede of “An it harm none do what ye will; if harm it does, do what ye must”. Either way, the Rede is central to the understanding that personal responsibility, rather than a religious authority, is where moral structure resides

Do you belong to a coven?

No, I prefer to be a solitary and work on my own but I am open to trying new things and meeting like~minded people.

Do you celebrate Christmas?

Yes, I love Christmas!

 

The article below from http://www.mdpagans.com/wiccaisnot.html describes how Wicca draws from the Old Traditions of Witchcraft. While this is true, we would simply like to clarify that Witchcraft and Wicca, while simular in many respects, are not the same. One can be a Witch, without being a Wiccan, just as a person can be a Christian, without being a Baptist. Wicca is a recognized religion, while Witchcraft itself is not considered a religion. Thus, Wicca might best be described as a modern religion, based on ancient Witchcraft traditions.

What Is Wicca

“Contrary to what those who choose to persecute or lie about us wish to believe, Wicca is a very peaceful, harmonious and balanced way of life which promotes oneness with the divine and all which exists.

Wicca is a deep appreciation and awe in watching the sunrise or sunset, the forest in the light of a glowing moon, a meadow enchanted by the first light of day. It is the morning dew on the petals of a beautiful flower, the gentle caress of a warm summer breeze upon your skin, or the warmth of the summer sun on your face. Wicca is the fall of colorful autumn leaves, and the softness of winter snow. It is light, and shadow and all that lies in between. It is the song of the birds and other creatures of the wild. It is being in the presence of Mother Earths nature and being humbled in reverence. When we are in the temple of the Lord and Lady, we are not prone to the arrogance of human technology as they touch our souls. To be a Witch is to be a healer, a teacher, a seeker, a giver, and a protector of all things. If this path is yours, may you walk it with honor, light and integrity”

~COOL SITES TO CHECK OUT ABOUT WICCA~

The Celtic Connection

http://www.wicca.com/celtic/wicca/wicca.htm

Suggested reading for Wiccan knowledge and understanding

http://www.wicca.com/celtic/catalog/books/suggested.htm

Pagan Pride

http://www.paganpride.org/resources/whatiswicca.html

Sugar Bane

http://blessedbe.sugarbane.com/wicca.htm

 ~SALEM WITCH TRIALS 1692~

“Lest terror be forgotten…”

“From June through September of 1692, nineteen men and women, all having been convicted of witchcraft, were carted to Gallows Hill, a barren slope near Salem Village, Massachusetts for hanging. Another man of over eighty years of age was pressed to death under heavy stones for refusing to submit to a trial on witchcraft charges. Hundreds of others faced accusations of witchcraft. Dozens languished in jail for months without trials. Then, almost as soon as it had begun, the hysteria that swept through Puritan Massachusetts ended.”

~THE INNOCENT~

Bridget Bishop

Hanged June 10, 1692

“I am no witch.
I am innocent.
I know nothing of it.”

Elizabeth Howe

Hanged June 19, 1692

“If it was the last moment I was to live,
God knows I am innocent…”

Susannah Martin

Hanged June 19, 1692

”I have no hand in witchcraft.”

Rebecca Nurse

Hanged June 19, 1692

“Oh Lord, help me! It is false. I am clear. For my life now lies in your hands….”

~PERSONS HANGED AND EXECUTED FOR WITCHCRAFT IN 1692~

~Bridget Bishop, June 10th
~Sarah Good, June 19th
~Elizabeth Howe, June 19th
~Susannah Martin, June 19th
~Sarah Wildes, June 19th

-Rebecca Nurse, June 19th
~George Burroughs, August 19th
~Martha Carrier, August 19th
~George Jacobs, August 19th
~John Proctor, August 19th
~John Willard, August 19th
~Giles Cory(pressed to death) September 19th
~Martha Cory, September 22nd
~Mary Easty, September 22nd
~Alice Parker, September 22nd
~Mary Parker, September 22nd
~Ann Pudeator, September 22nd
~Margaret Scott, September 22nd
~Wilmont Redd, September 22nd
~Samuel Wardwell, September 22nd

*One dog was also hanged, as he was believed to be a transformed witch.

Persons Who Were Accused of Witchcraft and Died in Prison While Awaiting Trial:

~Sarah Obsorne, 5/10/1692
~Roger Toothaker, 6/16/1692
~Ann Foster, 12/3/1692
~Lydia Dustin, 3/10/1693

*Giles Corey was “pressed” to death. He refused to stand trial after initially pleading guilty. Because he refused to be tried, he could not legally be convicted. The procedure of “pressing” was used to elicit a plea, one way or the other. He was placed on the ground, laying on his back and large rocks were placed on top of him. Giles, however, still refused to make a plea and was eventually crushed and killed by the weight of the rocks on top of him. The pressing lasted for 2 days, before Giles Corey finally succumbed. So, instead of making a plea, Giles Corey ended up making a statement!

~COOL SITES ABOUT SALEM~

From The Witchcraft Trials of Salem

http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/salem/SAL_ACCT.HTM

The Salem Witch Museum

http://www.salemwitchmuseum.com/

Salem Massachusetts Web Site

http://www.salemweb.com/memorial/

~COOL QUOTES ABOUT WITCHES~

“I was born on the night of Samhain, when the barrier between the worlds is whisper-thin and when magic, old magic, sings its heady and sweet song to anyone who cares to hear it.”
Carolyn MacCullough, Once a Witch
 
“Where shall we three meet again in thunder, lightning, or in rain? When the hurlyburly ‘s done, when the battle ‘s lost and won”
William Shakespeare, Macbeth
 
“Never put your faith in a Prince. When you require a miracle, trust in a Witch.”
Catherynne M. Valente, In The Night Garden
 
“Most books on witchcraft will tell you that witches work naked. This is because most books on witchcraft were written by men.”
Neil Gaiman
 
 
~THE WITCHES OF EASTWICK~ 
 
 
Alexandra Medford: Who are you?
Daryl Van Horne: Just your average, horny little devil.
 
 
~CONTACT ME~

I love to hear from my readers, whether good, bad or anything in between!

If you are interested in reviewing my books, interviewing me or being a guest on my blog, please contact me at Magicforest@peoplepc.com

Let me know if you want to be added to my distro list for upcoming book info!

I’ll also let you know about new releases, contests and other fun stuff and you’ll find
out all the juicy stuff before anyone else does!

Twitter: @LisaVProulx

Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&search-alias=books&field-author=Lisa%20V.%20Proulx

Barnes&Noble
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s?store=NOOKSTORE&keyword=lisa+v.+proulx

Smashwords Author Profile
http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/lisavproulx

My blog, The Main Artery:  https://lisavproulx.wordpress.com/

FaceBook Author Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-V-Proulx-Author-Fan-Page/223212131077410

And as always, thank you for your continued love and support! 🙂

*´¨)
¸.·*´¸.·*´¨)
(¸.·´ (¸.·’*Lisa¸.·*´¨)
(¸.·’*

“Witchcraft … is a spiritual path. You walk it for nourishment of the soul, to commune with the life force of the universe, and to thereby better know your own life.”

Christopher Penczak, The Inner Temple of Witchcraft

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

