Learn to stop and smell the roses…or what the heck is the big hurry?

Hi and Happy Wednesday!

Wednesday has always been my favorite day of the week. Why? I don’t know really. I was born on a Wednesday…I was a fan of Wednesday Addams from the Addams Family and I once had a cat named Wednesday…don’t know, I think I just like the sound of it!

Have you heard the expression, stop and smell the roses? Does anyone really know what that means?

It means we need to slow down and take a breather and learn to appreciate the finer things in life, like a rose, a butterfly or even a thunderstorm.

Okay, I know that may sound a little nutty to you however I mean it and it feels good to stop and smell the roses. Appreciate where you are in life and relax. You’ve got no where to go, trust me.

What is with all the hurry in life? Cars racing by you on the highway, kids running to get to the mall, bosses breathing down your neck to hurry it up and get your work finished by 5:00!

What’s up with all that? Where ya goin?

Well, I’ll tell you where you’re going…either in a box in the ground or in a box on someone’s mantle…so slow down!

Get to know the people in your environment…talk to them…learn something new about them.

Who cares, you say…well try it and see how it makes you feel, watch and see how it makes them feel.

Let me give you this example of something that happened to me today…

I went to a gas station, got gas and a slice of pizza. I was waited on by a beautiful girl from Pakistan. She misunderstood me when I ordered and thought I had asked for a pack of cigs! No way, I told her, I don’t smoke, never did and never will.

She said I was the only American she had ever met who did not smoke. Sad.

When I got back out to the car, I realized that I had picked up the wrong kind of pizza. This one had bacon on it and I don’t eat meat. She was kind enough to take it back and bake me another pie.

As I waited we talked about her name, her native country and how she celebrates Thanksgiving. She kept saying she was sorry for making me wait for like 10-15 minutes.

How could I complain? I got to meet a really nice person, learn about the origin and meaning of her name and hear stories about her culture…that…is how you have to look at life! ♥

Here is what I learned from that girl…her name was Fatima…which is pronounced FAH-tee-mah.

It is of Arabic origin, and  the meaning of Fatima is “baby’s nurse”. Also possibly “one who abstains”. The name of the favorite daughter of the prophet Muhammad who was his only child to bear children.  Hence she is sometimes referred to as “the mother of all Muslims”.

Did you know that? I didn’t know it and how cool it was for me to learn that today.

She said she “abstains” from smoking because as she said, “I love myself.”

She said that although her country does not celebrate Thanksgiving, she has many American friends who invite her to their homes and she celebrates with them.

What a lovely person!

Now, if I had been in a hurry, been impatient, been unfriendly…I would have never known this about her. I go in that store quite often and now that I know her name and her interests, I can talk to her and maybe we can learn about each other.

I know that in this day and age, people are too busy to stop and talk to others, and I think that is so sad.

I was not brought up with prejudice and hate. I enjoy learning about all cultures, races and faiths. I love learning the origins of unfamiliar names and dialects…come on people…we are all in this together, let’s try to get along. Maybe if we learn something about one another, we might not be filled with such anger towards other people.

Let me give you another example…remember a few years ago back in 1995 when Timothy McVeigh blew up the building in Oklahoma, killing 168 innocent men, women and children and injured over 800 more? Who could forget such a tragedy!

Well, here was a man who was an American, just like me. He did something horrible that I would never even think of doing so how can other cultures judge me? I had nothing to do with the bombings, I didn’t kill those people so why should I be judged because of an act by an American terrorist?

How can I judge other cultures when the majority of them feel like I do? These acts are senseless and only cause pain and suffering. No one in their right mind wants that.

For many years, I have been friends with a man who was born and raised in Iran. At one time, I worked for this man who was very gracious and kind to me. He spoke often of his homeland and how he came to this country as a young immigrant and I was kind to him.

His parents brought him to America at the tender age of 16 because he was being urged into the military there. This man was no fighter nor was he a killer. He did not want to fight and wanted no part of the violence that was erupting there.

Why not be kind to him? This man had done nothing to me. How could I blame him for crimes committed in his country by men who sought violence as a means to control?

So, the point I am trying to make is…and yes, I got kinda off topic…take time to stop and smell the roses…they are all aroud you…talk to people you don’t know…learn something new today and let it stay with you.

Be patient, kind and understanding.

Be forgiving, loving and be a friend.

There is good in everyone and there is something kind to say to everyone you meet.

The roses are waiting to embrace you…sometimes you just have to look beyond the thorns! 🙂

Thought For The Day

“You’re only here for a short visit. Don’t hurry, don’t worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way”. ~ Walter Hagen

~CONTACT ME~

I love to hear from my readers, whether good, bad or anything in between!

If you are interested in reviewing my books, interviewing me or being a guest on my blog, please contact me at Magicforest@peoplepc.com

Let me know if you want to be added to my distro list for upcoming book info!

I’ll also let you know about new releases, contests and other fun stuff and you’ll find out all the juicy stuff before anyone else does!

Twitter: @LisaVProulx

Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&search-alias=books&field-author=Lisa%20V.%20Proulx

Barnes&Noble
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/LISA-V–PROULX?keyword=LISA+V.+PROULX&store=allproducts

Smashwords Author Profile
http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/lisavproulx

Author Blog:  https://lisavproulx.wordpress.com/

Groupie Blog, Lick and A Promise: http://lickandapromise.wordpress.com/

FaceBook Author Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-V-Proulx-Author-Fan-Page/223212131077410

And as always, thank you for your continued love and support! 🙂

*´¨)
¸.·*´¸.·*´¨)
(¸.·´ (¸.·’*Lisa¸.·*´¨)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

