Meet Horror Author Armand Rosamilia

Hi everyone!

I hope you are enjoying your Spring time weather. Here in Maryland, it seemed as though the warm weather would never make an appearance. Alas, it was in the 70’s today and I actually got to lay out in the sun…ah…heaven!

It’s been a while since I have written in my blog. I had a death in my family on March 12 and as you probably know, losing a loved one can really take its toll on a person. I am now getting back into the swing of things and wanted you to meet someone today.

Read on….

bar18

HORROR AUTHOR, ARMAND ROSAMILIA

ARMAND ROSAMILIA

Welcome this talented author!

I had the pleasure of interviewing Armand recently and I got to know him a little better. You’ll love his whacky sense of humor and you’ll find out why this talented and diverse author is not just “the zombie guy!”

1.) When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

At twelve, reading Dean Koontz paperbacks. I have take it more serious on and off in the last 30 years or so, but I always refer to this as the starting point. I wanted to write these elaborate horror or thriller stories and be rich and famous. Until I get there, I keep writing. And will probably never stop even if it actually comes true.

2.) What type of genre do you write in?

Horror, mostly zombie stories right now, but I have dabbled in thrillers, steampunk, non-fiction, fantasy, erotica, and eventually I will expand it even further. I don’t want to be known only as the Zombie Guy, I want to be known as an Author.

ZOMBIES 2

3.) What inspires you to write in this genre?

The human condition, as they say. I love writing horror that can actually happen (hey, zombies can happen! Watch the news!), and see normal people in situations and write to see if they can get out of them. Whether it’s an ancient evil, the undead, a serial killer or your sick and twisted cousin trying to kill you, I want to write and see what happens next.

4.) Where do you get your ideas for your writing?

Walking around in Walmart. I have so many ideas in my head anyway. I won’t ever have enough time to write them all down. I don’t need ideas, I need to type faster and an assistant to dictate stories to.

ZOMBIE BUMPER STICKER

5.) Who are your favorite authors and why?

Obviously Koontz growing up. Robert E. Howard, H.P. Lovecraft… later, Brian Keene, Douglas Clegg, John Everson… they all bring their own unique style to horror, and as a writer I learned something from each of them.

6.) In your opinion, what key parts of a story make it great?

The hook. I am an impatient reader, so if you don’t catch my eye with something unique in the first chapter or three, you lost me. I try to keep that in mind when I’m writing. I want that opening line to hook you… for instance, the opening line to Tool Shed is “The cows had exploded.” That makes you want to read more. The opening line to my Highway To Hell extreme zombie novella is… well, I can’t really say what it is, since it’s pretty over the top crazy. But you get the point.

image115

7.) What activities do you do for inspiration?

I jog 37 miles a day and pull fire trucks with my teeth. Actually, I sit on my butt all day and do nothing but write. I love to people watch, and get many inspirations from eavesdropping on conversations and watching the way people move and interact with one another.

8.) Do you belong to any writing communities, or critique groups?

I am a member of the very loose Florida Horror Writers group, but we don’t have meetings or anything. We try to get together at local conventions and help one another out online. I am also a member of the HWA and heading to the Bram Stoker Awards in NOLA this June.

bliteye

9.) Has your work won any awards?

I’ve won the prestigious Tim Baker Author Award for Excellence. OK, I just made that up.

10.) Do you have a day job?

Yes, as an author. I have been blessed to be able to do this full-time. I set a daily goal and I break it most days, because I do this as a job and not as a hobby anymore. I set a schedule to write, and I write seven days a week.

11.) What advice would you give to others who are interested in pursuing a career in writing?

Start drinking heavily. Actually (besides that) I would do as much research about the business end of things as you can, and be realistic in your goals. Do you want to get rich and quit your day job? You need to be really special to do this, and have talent not because your mom thinks you’re good (my mom thinks I’m great, except the stuff she says sucks) but because an actual audience of readers you don’t know says you are good.

0173

12.) What is the title of your upcoming/newly released novel, and where can we find it?

My latest is a traditional horror novella, Tool Shed, released by Angelic Knight Press. You can find it in eBook format everywhere, with a print release scheduled in the future. It’s about a man who inherits a farm from his grandfather, a notorious property where the Tool Shed Murders took place.

ARMAND ROSAMILIA 2

13.) What is the best way for your fans to contact you? (see below for links)

Through all social media. Wherever there is a chance for me to be seen and be heard, I will be there. Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, even New Myspace… I am a media whore, but I don’t just push my books down your throat. I like to have fun and play around and meet new people. If you live in Florida you can also come down to Farley’s Irish Pub in Palm Coast and buy me a banana bread beer or three.

14.) What is your ultimate goal/dream concerning your writing?

To be realistic about it and be able to keep paying the bills doing it. As long as I can do that and not have stress about money and paying the electric bill, I will be fine. I don’t need anything more than that.

15.) Any final thoughts?

Yes, I have many.

bar18

Armand was given the choice to answer some other questions just for fun. Check out his answers!

bar18

1. If you could spend a day with anyone, living or dead, real or fictitious, who would it be and why?

A complete stranger, so I can interview them and build an interesting story from their life travels and their point of view. I love meeting new people, and each day I get introduced to someone new who might end up in a story. Or I’d like to hang out with Bruce Springsteen.

Bruce-Springsteen-pb11

2. What’s the worst job you’ve ever had?

Besides all of them? I worked in a fast food chicken takeout place right after high school, cutting up chickens. It was gross. I lasted two weeks. I have nothing against animals (I think they are all equally tasty) but the conditions in the kitchen would close it down today. I hope, anyway.

3. What’s your favorite music?

I am 43 and a huge Metalhead. I listen to Metal every day, and old school Thrash Metal (Slayer, Anthrax, Megadeth, Cyclone Temple, old Metallica) is my favorite.

Metallica-Wallpaper-metallica-4122807-350-500

4. What’s your favorite TV program?

I don’t watch much TV, but I love the Showtime series Shameless, and watching Red Sox games. I’d rather be writing or reading than watching mindless television.

5. What’s your favorite food?

Have you seen me? I’m on the wrong side of 300 lbs., so most food. But if I had to pick… pizza, mushroom Swiss burgers, cheese steak sandwiches, and pound bags of M&M’s… don’t judge me.

6. Five words that describe yourself…

Sexy, funny, gorgeous, perfect… and humble.

redeye

7. Which is more important to you – character or plot?

A good story has one or the other, a great story has both and they are both done well.

8. How do you visualize the scenes as you write?

Like an episode of Blossom. With even more zombies than in the actual show.

9. Do you have a writing day/days? If so, how do you structure them? If not, how do you manage to write?

I arrive at Kokomo’s Café in Flagler Beach Florida about 8 am, and check my e-mails and get coffee until 9, then I write for three hours (and hit my 2,000 word daily goal) and then have lunch. I catch up on e-mails and interviews and blog posts until it’s time to go home.

10. When did you start writing stories?

When I was twelve, total Dean Koontz rip-offs. I got serious for a time in my twenties but then life got in the way. Again, same story in my early thirties. I decided I was never going to be happy unless I was writing, and for the last three or four years I’ve had writing as a priority.

vampire-girl-on-roof.jpg

11. What are your current writing projects?

I always have several open docs on my laptop. As I write this, I have nine open right now I need to finish, and that doesn’t include the ideas I haven’t committed to paper yet. I can switch from project to project, and slowly complete them when the mood strikes.

12. What are you currently reading?

I have a huge TBR pile in both print and on my Kindle, but I love reading biographies more than anything. I’m actually reading three different ones right now, about Clarence Clemons, Adam Corolla, and Bruce Dickinson. If you could somehow combine the three into one book it would probably be even better.

Thanks for having me on your site! All the best \m/

bar18

HOW TO FIND ARMAND! 

He can run…but he cannot hide…from his fans! (I don’t think he’d want to)

OFFICIAL SITE
http://armandrosamilia.com/

BLOG

http://armandrosamilia.com/

TWITTER
https://twitter.com/ArmandAuthor

AMAZON
http://www.amazon.com/Armand-Rosamilia/e/B004S48J6G

SMASHWORDS
http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/armandrosamilia

FACEBOOK
https://www.facebook.com/armand.rosamilia

FACEBOOK AUTHOR PAGE

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Armand-Rosamilia/117384194954715

GOODREADS
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/237289.Armand_Rosamilia

PINTEREST
http://pinterest.com/armandauthor/

MYSPACE
http://www.myspace.com/armandauthor/photos/9841916

bar18

Thank you Armand for joining me today! It was a blast getting to know you and I wish you the best in your writing career!

bar18

“I believe that even the simplest chunk of flesh has every right in the world to be alive.” – Dr. Gabriel Schreklich, Night of the Dead: Leben Tod (2006)

bar18

www.lisavproulx.com

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Meet Horror Author Armand Rosamilia

  1. Reblogged this on Armand Rosamilia and commented:
    I’m Interviewed on the Lisa V. Prouix blog, and I have a fine time doing it, talking about zombies, Tool Shed, food, Kokomo’s Cafe and banana bread beer!

Leave a Reply

