NEW BOOK RELEASE! WEEDMONKEY

I have some very special news to share with you!

When I was a little girl, my Mom wanted to be a writer. She wrote short stories, they were often about local history, and some were actually ghost stories. Her favorite TV show was The Twilight Zone.

She also began writing a book about her childhood growing up during the Depression. She was forced to live in coal mining camps in Appalachia where she was subjected to child molestation, the KKK, murder, homelessness, starvation and ridicule for being the daughter of the town whore.

My whole life, I have heard about this book and would see her at her typewriter with her carbon paper typing away. I would see her jot down notes and go through old photos and I would see her cry at remembering the pain.

For fear of scorn from her family, most of whom were still living, she decided not to write anymore on the book. I knew this troubled her deeply.

In 2005, she decided to put her thoughts into words and we began a series of interviews that lasted for about a year. We hoped this would keep her story intact and she could finish it one day.

Then she was diagnosed with terminal cancer and given three months to live.

On her deathbed in 2006, she asked me to finish writing it for her. I lovingly said yes.

After her death and with her heavenly guidance, I found her notes and her interviews.

The book, WEEDMONKEY, is now out in paperback and on Kindle.

MA PHOTO SUBMITTED 1900X2850 - TITLE EVEN HIGHER July 11, 2013

http://www.amazon.com/Weedmonkey-Lisa-V-Proulx/dp/1490912924/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1374086579&sr=1-1&keywords=lisa+v.+proulx

I am so very happy to share this news with you. I only wish my mom were here to share it as well!

I am available for interviews and reviews!

Thanks for you continued love and support!!!

Lisa

怀

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “NEW BOOK RELEASE! WEEDMONKEY

  1. Ann

    I just finished “Weed Monkey” and found it fascinating. I hope it does well. Ann

Leave a Reply

