Meet Irish Horror Writer Chris Rush

Have you ever heard of the Banshee (bean-sidhe) in Ireland?

The word Banshee means Faerie woman or woman of the Faerie mound. Many legends exist surrounding the Banshees and just how evil she is meant to be.

I admit, I didn’t know a lot about her until I meet Irish horror writer Chris Rush. we have a unique story. I met Chris and his girl Amy two years ago in Florida. They were visiting America from Ireland and Chris told me about a screenplay he was writing. I was intrigued and wanted to hear more.

I offered to help Chris get his work out there and now, two years later, his first book FOLKLORE is being released today, March 21st! I am so proud of him.

Chris lives in County Wicklow, Ireland and has been a fan of horror for as long as he can remember.FOLKLORE is his first book and he has already begun writing his next one.

I was fortunate to sit down with Chris and share his good news with you. Enjoy!

bar18

 

CHRIS BLACK AND WHITE

Author Chris Rush

FOLKLORE COVER BY CHRIS RUSH

FOLKLORE by Chris Rush released March 21

1.) When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

Back in the summer of 2013 I said to myself I would really like to take on the challenge of writing a horror story. So I began writing a horror screenplay. I was excited to see if I could I actually do it.

2.) What inspires you to write in the horror genre?

I have always loved horror movies and anything else horror for that matter. Anyone that knows me knows that it’s my favorite genre. If I was to say what inspires me to write horror it would be people’s reactions to it. I am always amazed witnessing people being unsettled by what they see and hear, that’s how I feel you know if you have done a good job or not. 

BANSHEE 1

3.) Where do you get your ideas for your writing?

When writing I say to myself what is the best way to mess with someone’s head? I try picking something ordinary and make it terrifying. I could literally be driving, or talking to someone and an idea pops into my head and I say to myself “Yeah I’m going to use that” 

4.) Who are your favorite authors and why?

Very good question, to be honest this may sound extremely cheesy but I believe that a favorite can change over time. I believe that if someone’s work can stick in my head over time then that’s a job well done. I will never criticize anyone’s work because first of all who am I to criticize? And second of all, horror is such a broad topic that anything could be defined as horrific to any person. To answer the question, an author that stands out to me is Stephen King. I’ll be quite honest, I have read only one of his books. But why you may ask? Because he is without question one of the first authors you think of when you hear the word horror. Also in my opinion the amount of books he has written is a great accomplishment and also the amount of them that have been developed into movies speak for themselves. I feel that that is an incredible achievement that someone takes something that you have put on a page and turns it into a visual display.

BANSHEE 2

5.) In your opinion, what key parts of a story make it great?

A key part for me that makes a story great is if the reader can actually relate to what they are reading. For example, if you talk about a creaking floor board in a house late at night in a story, 90% of the readers may say to themselves, “Oh crap I hear that a lot too!” Another key part of a good story in my opinion is make nothing safe. For example, things in a horror story don’t always have to happen at night – make the reader feel that it isn’t safe during the day either. Finally, description -the more descriptive the more the reader will feel it.  

6.) What activities do you do for inspiration?

When writing Folklore I had my favorite music playing in the background. I feel it can help getting the mind working. I am a huge fan of Metallica, Fear Factory, Slayer, Exodus, Alice in Chains … the list goes on!

0039

7.) What advice would you give to others who are interested in pursuing a career in writing? 

Do it! I never thought I would be at this stage but look, I did it. It takes time and hard work but trust me it is worth every bit.

8.) What is your ultimate goal/dream concerning your writing?

My goal is without a doubt to keep writing and finding new ways to scare people. A dream would be to be considered a good horror writer by horror fans around the world.

0173

9.) What do you want your fans to get from your writing?

In one word, scared! I want my fans to read one of my books and say, “Crap this could happen to me!” I want my fans to want to read more, which means that I first of all have to do a good job to engage them within my story. Also I want my fans to enjoy my story and believe that I did the horror genre justice.

10.) Any final thoughts?

Yes first of all thank you Lisa for all your help along my journey. I want to thank anyone that takes the time out of their day to read my story. Finally, I’m going to keep writing horror and hopefully making every single person happy (in a sense) that they actually read a book I wrote.

wteye

Thanks Chris for a great interview and congrats on your new release! I am sure this is the beginning of a long and exciting writing career for you!

Thanks Lisa and remember – my goal is to scare you as much as possible and make you second guess turning off the lights.

 FOLKLORE_PINT_CHRISRUSH

FOLKLORE by Chris Rush is available in ebook and paperback on US Amazon.com

Folklore, by Chris Rush on Amazon.com

Amazon UK

Folklore available on Amazon UK

Chris was recently featured in his hometown newspaper, The Wicklow News!

Chris Rush interview in The Wicklow News

Chris’ website

Official Website of Author Chris Rush

You can meet Chris at one of his book signings this year (more to follow):

June 6, 2016

The Gutter Bookshop

Temple Bar Dublin

With very special guest, bestselling American author Lisa V. Proulx

October 10, 2016

Beans In The Belfry

Brunswick, Maryland, USA

Photos from a recent experience Chris had at ScreamVention in Dublin

CHRIS AND KANE HODDER

Chris and Kane Hodder who plays Jason in Friday the 13th

CHRIS AND CANDY MAN

Chris and Tony Todd who plays The Candyman

bar18

Lisa V. Proulx

LISA MARCH 28, 2015 PM jpg

Official Website of Author Lisa V. Proulx

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

